Summer Essentials

It’s that time of the year, when the day is long and warm, and our wardrobes are filled with breezy whites and lovely brights. While it’s not my favorite season of the year (the honor goes to spring), who can say no to summer dresses and big hats? Of course, my wardrobe isn’t the only thing that changes with the season. Summer tends to make my skin more oily, and with the melting heat, who wants to layer on thick make-up anyways? The following is a list of skincare and beauty products that I consider to be summer essentials, followed by brief descriptions and pictures:

  • Tinted Moisturizers: I found these to be absolutely essential for the summer months.  My favorite is the Lancome Aqua Fusion Teinte, which provides the perfect combination of light coverage that evens out my skin tone and oil-free hydration, with a SPF20. This product gives you sun protection, hydration, and a base for the rest of your make up. Doesn’t get better than this 🙂

    Lancome Aqua Fusion Teinte in #1

    • Cheek/Lip Stain: These give you a pop of bright color on both cheeks and the lips, and they last until you take them off. I like the Benefit Posietint. It looks almost neon pink in the bottle, but turns into a beautiful sheer pink that looks unbelievably natural on my cheeks. The posietint is also great on the lips, as it survives through drinking and eating, and looks beautiful with a layer of gloss or lipstick.

      Benefit Posietint

      • Lip gloss: I’m a lip gloss junkie so I won’t even pretend that there’s a single lip gloss that I stick to, ever. Some of my favorites are Buxom Lipgloss by BE, Stila lip glaze, and Korres Cherry Oil lip gloss.

        BE Buxom Lip Gloss

        Stila Lip Glaze

        Korres Cherry Oil Lip Gloss in set of 3

        • Peter Thomas Roth Mineral Sunscreen: this works as both a powder that sets my make up and a sunscreen with SPF30. Perfect combination for those who want sun protection but don’t want greasy feel of traditional sunscreen. This keeps my make up in place, my skin matte and protected.

          Peter Thomas Roth Sunscreen SPF30

          You should be able to get all of these from your Sephora (or Sephora.com) and department stores such as Nordstrom. The sunscreen by PTR is no longer available at Sephora, but you can find it here.

          Leave a Reply

          